Intern Company / Sleeping Beauty

It’s About the Journey, Not the Destination

That's me, Molly, front and center along with my other fantastic cast mates working our choreography!

That’s me, Molly, front and center along with my other fantastic cast mates working our choreography!

For as long as I can remember, I’ve been fascinated by the human condition. While most kids watched Saturday morning cartoons or played sports, I was engrossed with reruns of Little House on the Prairie, and testing whether or not my friend who lived 3 blocks away could hear me yell her name on my front porch. My mother was smart and kind enough to let me audition for our local youth theatre and the rest is history! I’ve always seen theatre as a way of connecting with others and answering questions I had about the world. And what better place to do just that, than at ETC?

In the past three months, I have already learned so much about what it takes to work in a professional theatre. I started off the season as the 2nd Assistant Stage Manager (ASM) for Hands on a Hardbody, and boy do I have respect for our ASM’s and our incredible PSM (theatre jargon for Production Stage Manager), Brandon! Brandon is constantly keeping track of everyone and every minute aspect of the shows. From scheduling to running rehearsals to teching, stage managing is a hard job and definitely something I never would have tried had it not been for this internship.

While working on Hardbody, I helped one of our cast members (the lovely Denise Devlin) with her hair and from that, my crew assignment for An Iliad was born. I was in charge of maintaining and putting on the wigs for our Muses every day. Once again, this task was a little daunting seeing as how I had never worked with wigs before, but with the help of my co-interns and Muses, Deirdre and Emily, we all figured out how to carefully attach them and maintain them over the course of the 3-week run.

Now the exciting part! We’ve started rehearsals for our holiday production of Sleeping Beauty and I’m so excited to say that I’m performing in it! (Actually all of the fabulous interns are, which is such an honor!) I’m playing the role of Blossom, who is one of the members of the royal court. It’s really great to be on my feet again performing and I’ve always loved working on original pieces, so to have our composer, David Kisor, in the room for rehearsals is a real treat! I can already tell that the development and process of this show will be unlike anything else I’ve ever done.

2014-2015 Acting Intern Molly Israel

2014-2015 Acting Intern Molly Israel

We started choreographing our opening number the other night and it was great to get back into dancing and to see my fellow interns, and many of our returning Hardbody cast members in action.

This year is such a journey and a wild one at that, but I can’t imagine being and learning anywhere else!

Cheers,

Molly